The Archangels

1 Thessalonians 4: 16

For the Lord Himself will descend from Heaven with a shout, with the voice of an Archangel, and with the trumpet of God.


The Archangels are messengers of Divine and Glorious news, through which they reveal the Mysteries of God and His Will to people. The Archangels enlighten the people with the Light of the Holy Gospel and spread faith in God.

The names of the Heavenly Hosts, the Holy Archangels of God, are Archangel Michael, Archangel Gabriel, Archangel Raphael, Archangel Uriel, Archangel Selaphiel, Archangel Jehudiel, Archangel Barachiel and Archangel Jeremiel.


Archangel Michael tramples the devil underfoot, and calls us all to stand well and with God.

His name means: Who is like unto God?


Archangel Gabriel announces with radiant joy the Mysteries of God and His Will.

His name means: The Powerful or Strong Man of God.


Archangel Raphael leads us to healing to cure our human infirmities.

His name means: The Healing of God.

In the Icon you can see Archangel Raphael holding a vessel containing healing medications in his left hand, and with his right hand he leads Tobias, carrying a fish for healing.


Archangel Uriel enlightens those with darkened minds to come to the Knowledge of God.

His name means: The Light or Fire of God.


Archangel Selaphiel Prays to God for us and encourages us in our Prayer.

His name means: The Prayer of God.


Archangel Jehudiel encourages people to struggle for the Glory of God and he intercedes for the reward of our efforts.

His name means: The Glory, Laudation, Praise of God.

In the Icon you can see Archangel Jehudiel holding a golden crown in his right hand, and a whip of three thongs.


Archangel Barachiel distributes to us the Blessings of God and entreats God’s Mercy for us.

His name means: The Blessings of God.

In the Icon you can see Archangel Barachiel holding a white rose to his chest.


Archangel Jeremiel encourages us to be Holy and raises us up to God.

His name means: The Compassion, Exaltation, Mercy of God.